30th November at 7.30pm

St Michael's Parish Church

Wind Section Music

Tickets: Full £16, U26 £6 


Nielsen: Wind Quintet Op 43 (flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon)

Seiber: Serenade  (2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns)

Poulenc: Sonata for clarinet and bassoon

Mozart: Divertimento for 6 Winds

Strauss: Suite in B flat Op 4 (double wind quintet plus 2 horns and contrabassoon)


We welcome the Scottish Chamber Orchestra Winds in a joint venture with selected invited players from the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.

The pieces selected for this concert were written in the 1920s, with the exception of course, of Mozart’s Divertimento. They employ various different combinations of instruments.


Writing about the SCO winds, the Guardian stated: "You'd be hard-put finding better wind ensemble playing. That these are colleagues, who sit next to each other day-in, day-out was evident in every sinuous interchange, every synchronised breath, every well-meshed articulation and intuitively balanced chord. As individuals, they play with the forthrightness of orchestral principals; as a group, they share nuances as instinctive chamber musicians".